head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Holiday Geek Gift Guide 2016: Comics Books and Graphic Novels
Henchman21   |  @   |  

Holiday Comics Gift Guide 2016

It’s Christmastime for the comic book fan in your life and as always, there is a wealth of titles out there to give as gifts this year. Below is what we like to think is a good list of comics and graphic novels for a variety of readers, be they art lovers, new readers, or people just looking for something new. So dive in, take a look and get ready to make someone happy when they unwrap their gift.

See here below for our Holiday Geek Gift Guide 2016 for Comic Books and Graphic Novels.

...continue reading »
space
 
TV Review: The Venture Bros. Season 6 ‘Hostile Makeover’
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The Venture Bros. Season 6

The brothers are back! It’s scary to think that it’s been more than 2 years since the end of season five of The Venture Bros., but yes it’s been that long. Sure we did get one hour-long special about this time last year, but that’s hardly enough for fans of the show. Fortunately, The Venture Bros. season six starts on Adult Swim on Sunday, January 31st at midnight, which means 8 weeks of the best damn show on TV.

The season starts off where “All This and Gargantua-2” left off, with Doc Venture having inherited his brothers’ business and a sweet new pad in New York City. Now the whole family is getting used to life in a new city as well as dealing with being fabulously rich. Meanwhile, Dr. Mrs. The Monarch is trying to rebuild the Guild of Calamitous Intent. There’s been quite a change to the old status quo, which I’m not sure is good or bad for new viewers.

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For November 11, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List Comics Pull List

Each and every week, I, “Goddamned!” Henchman 21 and “Sandman!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of November 11, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

Kind of a small list this week, but what we do have is pure gold. Yes, we only have a few books this time around, but they are both well worth your money, and sometimes it’s nice to have a smaller list. Maybe it’s a good week to go back and find something you may have missed. There is one thing you shouldn’t miss though, and that’s The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For November 4, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List Comics Pull List

Each and every week, I, “Q!” Henchman 21 and “M!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of November 4, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

Spys. Mutants. Santa. We’ve got a little bit of everything this week as we bring you a hot list of comics that you should be on the lookout for. As always, there are a ton of great comics out this week but if you can only buy a few comics you can do a lot worse than the books we have listed on The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For October 21, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List

Each and every week, I, “Let’s Go Cubs” Henchman 21 and “Let’s Go Mets!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of October 21, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

October 21, 2015. Yeah, you’ve been hearing about this day in a thousand internet memes all year and the day is finally here. So strap on your hoverboard, wear your pockets inside-out, and buy yourself a Pepsi Perfect. But don’t forget to buy a whole batch of comics, including a new series based on a certain movie which many are celebrating today. Now, I’ve got to go listen to some Huey Lewis and the News, but you enjoy today’s heavy version of The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics for October 14, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List Comics

Each and every week, I, “Sports Reference!” Henchman 21 and “Movie Reference!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of October 14, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

This is a week with a lot of prestige books by some of the greatest creators working in comics from a lot of different companies. This is a very good week for new releases, with a couple of titles that are shoe-ins to win some major awards next year. And there are plenty of other great books, including plenty of new Marvel titles, but we can only cover so many. So let’s get to telling you about some spectacular picks on The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics for October 7, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List Comics Pull List

Each and every week, I, “Illegal Bat!” Henchman 21 and “Get over it!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of October 7, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

Yes! This week marks the start of the first batch of post Secret Wars, All-New All-Different Marvel comics relaunches. Also, Secret Wars #6 is out, meaning the series is two-thirds done… Yeah, this is comics. If you’re not interested in the joy joy feeling that comes with dealing with Marvel’s publication schedule, there are plenty of other great books out there for you. Yes, it’s time for another jam-packed edition of The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
Listen Now: ‘Locke & Key’ The Audiobook For FREE!
Henchman21   |  @   |  

Locke & Key audiobook

Fans of IDW Publishing’s Locke & Key have had to suffer through a lot of starts and stops when it comes to adapting the comic series into another medium. There was the ill-fated Fox pilot that was never aired, a movie trilogy that appears to not be happening anymore, and the possibility of another TV show, but so far the only other medium Locke & Key has been translated into has been the card game by Cryptozoic Entertainment.

That all changes today, October 5, as Locke & Key has been released as an audiobook, and it’s free for a limited time!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For September 16, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List Comics Pull List

Each and every week, I, “What’s Up?” Henchman 21 and “Not Much!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of September 16, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

We’rrrrrrrrrrrrrre baaaaaaaaaaack! Let’s make with the comics already. It’s time to get back in the swing of The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For July 23, 2015
Henchman21   |  @   |  

The GoD List

Each and every week, I, “Ant-Man!” Henchman 21 and “The Wasp!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of July 23, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

There are weeks when I get excited about scores of books that are being released. And then there are other weeks. This is one of those other weeks, as we get a whole batch of very good comics; Secret Wars is still rolling, DC continues to roll out new books in their most recent relaunch, IDW, Dark Horse, Image and the others pump out a fine line of books. So, we’re just going with a shorter list this week, including a long running series ending in a spectacular fashion, a book from last week that I didn’t get a chance to talk about, and a book you probably never thought you would see. Let’s get The GoD List started!

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact