head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
TV Review: Mr. Robot 2.4 “eps2.2_init1.asec”
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Mr. Robot 204 Header

Mr. Robot
Season 2 Episode 4 “eps2.2_init1.asec”
Directed by Sam Esmail
Written by Sam Esmail
Created by Sam Esmail
Starring Rami Malek, Portia Doubleday, Carly Chaikin, Christian Slater, Michael Cristofer, Stephanie Corneliussen, Grace Gummer
USA Network
Air date: Wednesday, July 27, 2016, 10pm

We left Elliot (Rami Malek) on the brink. He’s so desperate to keep Mr. Robot (Christian Slater) out of his head, that he is drugging himself into a trance-like existence. He is starting to snap. He goes on a God-hating tirade at church, and re-swallows regurgitated adderall. He has a new friend, Ray (Craig Robinson), who has helped him stabilize, but more problems are soon to come. FBI investigator Dominique DiPierro (Grace Gummer), digging through garbage, found a clue that has led to the Coney Island arcade that houses fsociety. And Darlene (Carly Chaikin) and the rest of the group are spiraling – one murdered, and others believing Elliot is the one who ratted them out.

Spoilers for this week’s Mr. Robot below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Apparel Review: Celebs Clothing’s Captain America Varsity Jacket
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

captain-america-varsity-jacket

You know, I don’t think anyone has ever sent me an article of clothing to review before. But I can’t say that anymore after this, because Celebs Clothing was gracious enough to send me one of their Captain America Varsity Jacket for my very own! How cool is that? I always like receiving gifts (who doesn’t?), but when it’s from someone I’ve never met, that’s particularly awesome!

To be completely honest, they actually sent me a list of different jackets from which to choose. Batman, Deadpool, Suicide Squad, Superman, and more! But I’ve always wanted some Cap merch so I went with the red, white, and blue!

Make sure to check out the pictures here below of the jacket I tried out.

...continue reading »
space
 
TV Review: Scream 2.9 “The Orphanage”
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Scream Logo 2

Scream
Season 2 Episode 9 “The Orphanage”
Directed by Gil Kenan
Written by Leigh Janiak
Created by Jill E. Blotevogel, Jay Beattie, Dan Dworkin
Starring Willa Fitzgerald, Bex Taylor-Klaus, John Karna, Amadeus Serafini, Carlson Young, Tracy Middendorf, Kiana Lede, Austin Highsmith, Billy Campo, Sean Grandillo, Santiago Segura, Anthony Ruivivar
MTV
Air date: Tuesday, July 26, 2016, 10pm

Last week, Emma (Willa Fitzgerald) nearly shot Kieran (Amadeus Serafini), but alas the killer’s plan backfired. Brooke (Carlson Young), my new favorite character (#brookeforfinalgirl), drunkenly told the town of Lakewood off for staging its yearly carnival in the middle of another run of murders, particularly so far, her boyfriend Jake (Tom Maden) and ex-lover and teacher Seth Branson (Bobby Campo). The killer is tormenting Audrey (Bex Taylor-Klaus) into confessing her secret tie-in with Piper to Emma, and Audrey is so stressed she is accidentally making herself the third wheel in Noah (John Karna) and Zoe’s (Kiana Lede) blossoming relationship. Thankfully for Noah, it hasn’t fully blossomed yet, because otherwise that would be instant death… you know if this show is still following Scream rules. It’s hard to tell since there have been 3 murders in 8 episodes and we still don’t know much about the actual story. We do know that the town elders are hiding something, so maybe it comes out tonight…

Spoilers below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: King Conan: Wolves Beyond The Border
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

King Conan: Wolves Beyond The Border header

King Conan: Wolves Beyond The Border
Created by Robert E. Howard
Written by Timothy Truman
Art by Tomas Giorello
Colors by Jose Villarrubia
Letters by Richard Starkings and Comicraft’s Jimmy Betancourt
Cover by Tomas Giorello
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: July 27, 2016
Cover Price: $17.99

It used to be that every time I saw there was a new Conan release, I would hang my head and sigh deeply before laying my money down on the counter. It was a crapshoot, to say the least. But in the past few years in general, and this month in particular, I’ve been pleasantly surprised. This trade paperback, King Conan: Wolves Beyond The Border, is a prime example of masterful storytelling and sequential art working in perfect harmony.

Read on for more information as to why I loved it so much!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Conan The Slayer #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Conan The Slayer #1 header

Conan The Slayer #1
Written by Cullen Bunn
Art by Sergio Davila
Colors by Michael Atiyeh
Letters by Richard Starkings & Comicraft
Covers by Lee Bermejo, Mark Schultz with Dave Stewart (30th Anniversary Variant)
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: July 13, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

Cullen Bunn is writing Conan! Okay, now that I got that out of the way, allow me to introduce you to Conan The Slayer #1. Being a life-long fan of everyone’s favorite Cimmerian, I always try to keep my eyes open for anything Conan. To be fair, I’ll read anything involving this character. But when it reads and feels just like something Robert E. Howard himself would have appreciated, then it’s really time to celebrate!

Keep on reading for more fanboy gushing and witty remarks!

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger
Olympus Athens   |  @   |  

Last Call Nightshade Lounge Paul Krueger Header

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge
Paperback | Kindle Edition | Audio CD
Written by Paul Krueger
Quirk Books
Release Date: June 7th, 2016

Bailey used to go through life living at the top – excellent grades, choices of top schools, a bright future. How did she end up cleaning vomit and running glassware for her high school BFF? AND… she’s back living with her parents. She’s hoping that her interview at Divinyl will result in bringing the success she was always sure she would have in life. Her bestie, Zane, was a bartender here at the Nightshade Lounge, his Uncle Garret’s bar, and he seemed a bit different than the guy she knew. He was more sure of himself, walked with a confidence that had he had back in school, she may have seen him as more, the way he saw her back then.

Such is the setup for Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge: A Novel of Magic and Mixology by Paul Krueger.

More below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Retro Movie Review: Planet of the Apes (1968)
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Planet of the Apes Header

Planet of the Apes (1968)
Director: Franklin J. Schaffner
Screenwriters: Rod Serling and Michael Wilson
Cast: Charlton Heston, Roddy McDowall, Kim Hunter, Maurice Evans, James Whitmore, James Daly, Linda Harrison
Distributor: Twentieth Century Fox
Rated PG-13 | 112 minutes
Release Date: April 3rd, 2016

If I told you I was seeing Planet of the Apes in theaters in 2016, you’d assume I was watching the third film in the new series starring Andy Serkis in motion capture technology as Caesar. Thanks to TCM and their Big Screen Classics promotion, the original 1968 classic is back in theaters for only one more day. It premiered on Sunday, July 24th, at several theaters throughout New York City, and I was there with my entire family, including my 5-year daughter.

More below.

...continue reading »
space
 
TV Review: Preacher 1.9 “Finish the Song”
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Preacher 1.9 Dominic Cooper

Preacher
Episode 1.9 “Finish the Song”
Directed by Michael Slovis
Written by Craig Rosenberg
Starring Dominic Cooper, Joe Gilgun, Ruth Negga, Lucy Griffiths, W. Earl Brown, Anatol Yusef, Tom Brooke, Ian Colletti, Jackie Earle Haley
AMC
Air date: Sunday, July 24, 2016, 9pm

Last week on Preacher, Jesse (Dominic Cooper) made his stand against Odin Quincannon (Jackie Earle Haley) and his cult-like acolytes of QM&P. After keeping them away from his family church and dealing with the nagging ghost of Eugene (Ian Colletti), he got knocked out by Donnie (Derek Wilson), who was able to withstand the pull of Genesis by shooting out his own eardrums. Jesse made one last deal with Quincannon: he gets to keep the church IF… he brings God to Annville next Sunday! Can Jesse follow through on his bold and crazy guarantee, or will he be forced to denounce the Lord in front of everyone while Odin turns his church into a new meatpacking factory complete with a food court?

Spoilers below if you have not seen this week’s Preacher:

...continue reading »
space
 
TV Review: Stranger Things 1.8 “Chapter Eight: The Upside Down” (Finale)
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Netflix Stranger Things Header

Stranger Things
Episode 1.8 “Chapter Eight: The Upside Down”
Teleplay by The Duffer Brothers, Story by Paul Dichter
Directed by The Duffer Brothers
Created by The Duffer Brothers
Starring Noah Schnapp, Finn Wolfhard, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, David Harbour, Natalia Dyer, Cara Buono, Millie Bobby Brown, Winona Ryder, Charlie Heaton, Matthew Modine, Joe Keery, John Reynolds, Joe Chrest
Netflix
Air date: Friday, July 15, 2016

If you’ve followed my reviews of this series so far, you know I am in love with it. So this review is bittersweet. To most in Hawkins, Indiana, Will Byers drowned in a quarry. He had to – they had a funeral and everything. To those who know him best, they have spent days piecing together the truth. There is some sort of monster lurking in Hawkins, that has taken Will to the Upside Down, a parallel dimension to our own. Worse, perhaps is that the government is covering this up, and the monster as well as a powerful but scared little girl, are parts of a Cold War experiment called MK Ultra. Before we get to it, let’s take a minute to review where our essential characters are:

...continue reading »
space
 
TV Review: Mr. Robot 2.3 “eps2.1_k3rnel-pan1c.ksd”
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Mr. Robot 203 Header

Mr. Robot
Season 2 Episode 3 “eps2.1_k3rnel-pan1c.ksd”
Directed by Sam Esmail
Written by Sam Esmail
Created by Sam Esmail
Starring Rami Malek, Portia Doubleday, Carly Chaikin, Christian Slater, Michael Cristofer, Stephanie Corneliussen, Grace Gummer
USA Network
Air date: Wednesday, July 20, 2016, 10pm

In the 2-part second season premiere of Mr. Robot, we found Elliot (Rami Malek) totally off the grid. To keep Mr. Robot (Christian Slater) at bay, he developed a mind-numbingly boring daily routine, with not a second of it involving computers or the internet. He goes to church meetings, therapy, and keeps a journal of all the times Mr. Robot tried to get into his head… actually, I guess it’s out of his head. Meanwhile fsociety, having achieved their goal of resetting the economy and turning the entire nation upside down, plotted its next move despite its leader being out of commission. Darlene (Carly Chaikin) put the gears in motion – a plan to extort $5.9 million from E-Corp and have executives literally burn the money in public.

The FBI was desperately trying to figure out who was behind this. Their chief suspect was Tyrell Wellick (Martin Wallstrom), but he too went off the grid, and poor Gideon (Michel Gill) took the fall. One of the few people in the world Elliot respects, Gideon begged him to help. Unfortunately being linked on television to a massive cyber attack on the nation’s economy isn’t good for your social status, and Gideon was assassinated in a club. Will this be the motivating force to draw Elliot back to the internet and fulfill his role as leader of fsociety?

Spoilers below.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
SDCC 2016 banner
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast BlendoveR Podcast
2520 Clothing Company
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact