head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Comic Review: Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #3
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #3 header

Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #3
Written by Andy Mangels
Art by Judit Tondora
Colors by Roland Pilcz
Letters by Lois Buhalis & Tom Orzechowski
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: March 15, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

I don’t normally make a habit out of reviewing or spotlighting every issue in a mini-series, but with this one I cannot seem to help it. Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #3 continues to astound me and make me nostalgic for my childhood. Additionally, with March being Women’s History Month, it only seems fitting that we celebrate these iconic characters. Though, to be fair, I plan on celebrating this series each and every month regardless.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Neil Gaiman’s American Gods: Shadows #1
Empress Eve   |  @   |  

American Gods: Shadows #1 Glenn Fabry Cover header

American Gods: Shadows #1
Story and Words by Neil Gaiman
Script and Layout by P. Craig Russell
Art by Scott Hampton
Colors by Scott Hampton
Letters by Rick Parker
Covers by Glenn Fabry with Adam Brown, Scott Hampton, Dave McKean, David Mack, Becky Cloonan, Fabio Moon
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: March 15, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

Neil Gaiman‘s award-winning, best-selling all-around amazing novel American Gods is soon to be a television series on Starz, but first, Dark Horse Comics has launched an ongoing comic book adaptation with American Gods: Shadows #1.

In this first issue, we’re introduced to Shadow Moon, who’s nearing the end of his 3-year prison sentence. He wants nothing more than to just go home and finally be reunited with his wife, Laura — well, that and to take a bubble bath. But one thing is clear, he’s going to stay out of trouble from now on and work on rebuilding his life. Unfortunately, days before his scheduled release, he learns the devastating news that Laura has died, leaving him lost with no sense of what the future holds for him.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: John Carpenter’s Asylum Volume 2
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Asylum Volume 2 Header

John Carpenter’s Asylum Volume 2
Paperback
Created by John Carpenter, Thomas Ian Griffith and Sandy King
Written by Sandy King and Trent Olsen
Pencils and Inks by Leonardo Manco
Colors by Kinsun Loh
Lettering by Janice Chiang
Storm King Comics
Release Date: October 11th, 2016
Cover Price: $24.99

“There’s a war coming to the City of Angels.”

John Carpenter’s name is synonymous with horror. For five decades, he has given fans nightmares with his legendary films, characters, and music. In 2013, one of the greatest horror movie directors of all time, Carpenter, stepped into another medium for his genre; comics. Along with his wife and co-writer Sandy King as well as actor/writer Thomas Ian Griffith (John Carpenter’s Vampires), the Halloween patriarch created his Storm King Productions line of comics, namely, Asylum. Asylum tells the story of a down and out priest Daniel Beckett, a man who sleeps around, smokes, curses, and has lost his connection. He is a demon hunter, and soon he’s the suspect in brutal murders chased by flawed but effective LAPD cop Jack Duran. When Duran’s son is kidnapped by a demon, enemies become partners and Duran and Beckett race against Hell itself to save him. Beckett is much more than meets the eye it turns out.

More below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Michael Turner’s All New Fathom #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Fathom #1a header

Michael Turner’s All New Fathom #1
Written by Blake Northcott
Art by Marco Renna
Colors by John Starr
Letters by Zen
Covers by Peter Steigerwald, Marco Renna, John Starr, Alex Konat, Jordan Gunderson, Talent Caldwell, Michael Turner, Jon Sibal, Keu Cha
Aspen Comics
Release Date: February 8, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

Fan favorite Blake Northcott begins her eight issue run on Aspen Comics’ flagship title Michael Turner’s All New Fathom #1 this month. We were happy to hear that Northcott was taking the lead on this comic as she has written a few articles here at Geeks of Doom and is like part of our extended family.

Therefore, having said that, it should come as no shock whatsoever that I chose to review this comic. And without further ado, let’s get to it shall we?

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: American Gods: Shadows #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

American Gods: Shadows #1 Glenn Fabry Cover header

American Gods: Shadows #1
Written by Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell
Art by Scott Hampton
Colors by Scott Hampton
Cover by Glenn Fabry, Dave McKean, David Mack
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: March 15, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

This is it, folks. This is what many of us have been waiting for. This is the year that Neil Gaiman takes over the world. Well, maybe not the whole world but he’s certainly trying to take over the literary world. With an upcoming Starz television series being adapted from his Hugo, Bram Stoker, Locus, World Fantasy, and Nebula award–winning novel American Gods, it seems only fitting that there be a comic version, too. Right? Thankfully, Dark Horse Comics has stepped up with American Gods: Shadows #1, the first of an ongoing series based on the aforementioned book. Other than a few teaser pages I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but those look magnificent.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Neil Gaiman’s Forbidden Brides
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Neil Gaiman Forbidden Brides title

Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire
Hardcover
Story by Neil Gaiman
Adaptation and Art by Shane Oakley
Colors Nick Filardi
Lettering by Todd Klein
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release date: January 25, 2017

Everyone knows of author Neil Gaiman. Okay, maybe not everyone, but they should! In this newest incarnation, Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire finds a new audience in comic readers. Originally published in the anthology Fragile Things, this short story is more than it first seems.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Lords Of The Cosmos #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Lords Of The Cosmos #1 header

Lords Of The Cosmos #1
Written by Dennis Fallon and Jason Palmatier
Created and Drawn by Jason Lenox
Ugli Studios
Release Date: January 2017
Cover Price: $7.00 (includes shipping)

Independent comics have been a mainstay in my life for decades now. One of the best parts of this gig is access to so much indie work in addition to the mainstream companies. If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times: the indie books are filled with love and created with passion. Lords Of The Cosmos #1 is certainly all that and more. I love that it was a successful Kickstarter campaign; it shows that I’m not alone in my excitement for this comic book.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Hype By Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray
Olympus Athens   |  @   |  

Hype Cover

Hype
Written by Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray
Art by Javier Pina
Colors by Alessia Nocera
Letters by Bill Tortolini
Cover by Amanda Conner & Paul Mounts
Special cover by Dave Johnson
PaperFilms &
Adaptive Studios
Release Date: January 24th, 2017
Cover Price: $12.99

Scientist Amanda Marr is kidnapped and threatened by the military to understand and humanize their best weapon… HYPE. A superhuman who can only be conscious for 45 minutes per day, Amanda must teach HYPE aka Noah how to be still and feel and learn. His powers are amazing, overwhelming to him. He is so hyperaware, he can hear a fly buzzing in a car in a parking lot below.

Such is the story of Hype, a crowdfunded 65-page full-color graphic novel by Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray that’s now been released to the public.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: The Shadow Glass TPB
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

The Shadow Glass TPB header

The Shadow Glass
Written by Aly Fell
Art by Aly Fell
Letters by Nate Piekos of Blambot
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: January 4, 2017
Cover Price: $19.99

I remember when I reviewed the first issue of this series, back in March. I found the premiere issue to be both entertaining and intriguing. Now, after seeing the first six issues brought together in this graphic novel, nothing has changed in my mind. The Shadow Glass is one of my favorite comics of 2016.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Klaus and The Witch Of Winter – One-Shot
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Klaus And The Witch Of Winter

Klaus and the Witch of Winter – One-Shot
Print Edition | Kindle Edition
Written by Grant Morrison
Art by Dan Mora
Main cover by Dan Mora
Black Ice Incentive cover by Dan Mora
FOC Variant cover by Cameron Stewart
BOOM! Studios
Release Date: December 21, 2016

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, folks! And what way to show some holiday spirit than with a one-shot comic like Klaus and the Witch of Winter! Who doesn’t like the idea of a beer-drinking bad-ass Santa with a take no crap attitude? Certainly not me, I’ll tell you that for nothing.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact