head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Comic Review: Michael Turner’s All New Fathom #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Fathom #1a header

Michael Turner’s All New Fathom #1
Written by Blake Northcott
Art by Marco Renna
Colors by John Starr
Letters by Zen
Covers by Peter Steigerwald, Marco Renna, John Starr, Alex Konat, Jordan Gunderson, Talent Caldwell, Michael Turner, Jon Sibal, Keu Cha
Aspen Comics
Release Date: February 8, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

Fan favorite Blake Northcott begins her eight issue run on Aspen Comics’ flagship title Michael Turner’s All New Fathom #1 this month. We were happy to hear that Northcott was taking the lead on this comic as she has written a few articles here at Geeks of Doom and is like part of our extended family.

Therefore, having said that, it should come as no shock whatsoever that I chose to review this comic. And without further ado, let’s get to it shall we?

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: American Gods: Shadows #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

American Gods: Shadows #1 Glenn Fabry Cover header

American Gods: Shadows #1
Written by Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell
Art by Scott Hampton
Colors by Scott Hampton
Cover by Glenn Fabry, Dave McKean, David Mack
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: March 15, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

This is it, folks. This is what many of us have been waiting for. This is the year that Neil Gaiman takes over the world. Well, maybe not the whole world but he’s certainly trying to take over the literary world. With an upcoming Starz television series being adapted from his Hugo, Bram Stoker, Locus, World Fantasy, and Nebula award–winning novel American Gods, it seems only fitting that there be a comic version, too. Right? Thankfully, Dark Horse Comics has stepped up with American Gods: Shadows #1, the first of an ongoing series based on the aforementioned book. Other than a few teaser pages I haven’t had a chance to read it yet, but those look magnificent.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Neil Gaiman’s Forbidden Brides
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Neil Gaiman Forbidden Brides title

Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire
Hardcover
Story by Neil Gaiman
Adaptation and Art by Shane Oakley
Colors Nick Filardi
Lettering by Todd Klein
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics
Release date: January 25, 2017

Everyone knows of author Neil Gaiman. Okay, maybe not everyone, but they should! In this newest incarnation, Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire finds a new audience in comic readers. Originally published in the anthology Fragile Things, this short story is more than it first seems.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Lords Of The Cosmos #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Lords Of The Cosmos #1 header

Lords Of The Cosmos #1
Written by Dennis Fallon and Jason Palmatier
Created and Drawn by Jason Lenox
Ugli Studios
Release Date: January 2017
Cover Price: $7.00 (includes shipping)

Independent comics have been a mainstay in my life for decades now. One of the best parts of this gig is access to so much indie work in addition to the mainstream companies. If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times: the indie books are filled with love and created with passion. Lords Of The Cosmos #1 is certainly all that and more. I love that it was a successful Kickstarter campaign; it shows that I’m not alone in my excitement for this comic book.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Hype By Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray
Olympus Athens   |  @   |  

Hype Cover

Hype
Written by Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray
Art by Javier Pina
Colors by Alessia Nocera
Letters by Bill Tortolini
Cover by Amanda Conner & Paul Mounts
Special cover by Dave Johnson
PaperFilms &
Adaptive Studios
Release Date: January 24th, 2017
Cover Price: $12.99

Scientist Amanda Marr is kidnapped and threatened by the military to understand and humanize their best weapon… HYPE. A superhuman who can only be conscious for 45 minutes per day, Amanda must teach HYPE aka Noah how to be still and feel and learn. His powers are amazing, overwhelming to him. He is so hyperaware, he can hear a fly buzzing in a car in a parking lot below.

Such is the story of Hype, a crowdfunded 65-page full-color graphic novel by Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray that’s now been released to the public.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: The Shadow Glass TPB
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

The Shadow Glass TPB header

The Shadow Glass
Written by Aly Fell
Art by Aly Fell
Letters by Nate Piekos of Blambot
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: January 4, 2017
Cover Price: $19.99

I remember when I reviewed the first issue of this series, back in March. I found the premiere issue to be both entertaining and intriguing. Now, after seeing the first six issues brought together in this graphic novel, nothing has changed in my mind. The Shadow Glass is one of my favorite comics of 2016.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Klaus and The Witch Of Winter – One-Shot
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Klaus And The Witch Of Winter

Klaus and the Witch of Winter – One-Shot
Print Edition | Kindle Edition
Written by Grant Morrison
Art by Dan Mora
Main cover by Dan Mora
Black Ice Incentive cover by Dan Mora
FOC Variant cover by Cameron Stewart
BOOM! Studios
Release Date: December 21, 2016

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, folks! And what way to show some holiday spirit than with a one-shot comic like Klaus and the Witch of Winter! Who doesn’t like the idea of a beer-drinking bad-ass Santa with a take no crap attitude? Certainly not me, I’ll tell you that for nothing.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1 banner

Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1
Written by Andy Mangels
Art by Judit Tondora
Colors by Michael Bartolo and Stuart Chaifetz
Letters by Tom Orzechowski and Lois Buhalis
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: December 7, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

This revival of iconic characters from my youth has been extraordinarily hit or miss, but in the case of Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1, it is certainly a home run. I was always a huge fan of Lynda Carter’s Wonder Woman, but only occasionally watched The Bionic Woman. Not sure if it was a schedule conflict or what; I remember liking the 1970s Lindsay Wagner show, but just not seeing it often. Now, our friends at Dynamite Entertainment have teamed up with DC Comics to bring us one of the best TV titan team-ups ever!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4 header

Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4
Written by David Mack
Art by David Mack (with Rick Mays)
Cover by David Mack
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: November 2, 2016
Cover Price: $39.99

There are an amazing quantity of folks that I appreciate for one reason or another. Some are writers, others are artists, and even a few are activists. But no one person covers the full range like David Mack. I have been a fan ever since I first discovered his Kabuki comics when they were being published by Caliber Press back in the nineties. Many publishers and opuses later, Mack has become one of the most prolific of all comicdom’s creators. With his latest release, Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4, he concludes his large, heavy bound editions of his iconic characters and their tales.

Continue reading for more information.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: KISS #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Kiss #1 header

KISS #1
Written by Amy Chu
Art by Kewber Baal
Colors by Schimerys Baal
Letters by Troy Peteri
Covers by Goni Montes, Francesco Francavilla, Kewber Baal & Schimerys Baal, Shouri, Fernando Ruiz
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: October 19, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

Would you look at this, I’m getting to review a Kiss comic. Usually Empress Eve is the one who gets the pleasure of reviewing Kiss items, but as luck would have it, she’s extraordinarily busy right now and I didn’t hesitate to jump on it! So here is Dynamite Entertainment’s KISS #1!

The setup is this: The world reached a point where civilization was in jeopardy and war threatened to exterminate mankind, once and for all. The Great War, as it is now referred to 468 years later, forced a large group of people underground. They pieced together a new society, saving what they could from the surface in an attempt to preserve at least some of their history. For almost five centuries, these survivors have lived in the subterranean city of Blackwell in peace and solitude. But nothing lasts forever.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact