head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Comic Review: The Shadow Glass TPB
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

The Shadow Glass TPB header

The Shadow Glass
Written by Aly Fell
Art by Aly Fell
Letters by Nate Piekos of Blambot
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: January 4, 2017
Cover Price: $19.99

I remember when I reviewed the first issue of this series, back in March. I found the premiere issue to be both entertaining and intriguing. Now, after seeing the first six issues brought together in this graphic novel, nothing has changed in my mind. The Shadow Glass is one of my favorite comics of 2016.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Klaus and The Witch Of Winter – One-Shot
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Klaus And The Witch Of Winter

Klaus and the Witch of Winter – One-Shot
Print Edition | Kindle Edition
Written by Grant Morrison
Art by Dan Mora
Main cover by Dan Mora
Black Ice Incentive cover by Dan Mora
FOC Variant cover by Cameron Stewart
BOOM! Studios
Release Date: December 21, 2016

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, folks! And what way to show some holiday spirit than with a one-shot comic like Klaus and the Witch of Winter! Who doesn’t like the idea of a beer-drinking bad-ass Santa with a take no crap attitude? Certainly not me, I’ll tell you that for nothing.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1 banner

Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1
Written by Andy Mangels
Art by Judit Tondora
Colors by Michael Bartolo and Stuart Chaifetz
Letters by Tom Orzechowski and Lois Buhalis
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: December 7, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

This revival of iconic characters from my youth has been extraordinarily hit or miss, but in the case of Wonder Woman ’77 Meets The Bionic Woman #1, it is certainly a home run. I was always a huge fan of Lynda Carter’s Wonder Woman, but only occasionally watched The Bionic Woman. Not sure if it was a schedule conflict or what; I remember liking the 1970s Lindsay Wagner show, but just not seeing it often. Now, our friends at Dynamite Entertainment have teamed up with DC Comics to bring us one of the best TV titan team-ups ever!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4 header

Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4
Written by David Mack
Art by David Mack (with Rick Mays)
Cover by David Mack
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: November 2, 2016
Cover Price: $39.99

There are an amazing quantity of folks that I appreciate for one reason or another. Some are writers, others are artists, and even a few are activists. But no one person covers the full range like David Mack. I have been a fan ever since I first discovered his Kabuki comics when they were being published by Caliber Press back in the nineties. Many publishers and opuses later, Mack has become one of the most prolific of all comicdom’s creators. With his latest release, Kabuki Library Edition Volume 4, he concludes his large, heavy bound editions of his iconic characters and their tales.

Continue reading for more information.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: KISS #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Kiss #1 header

KISS #1
Written by Amy Chu
Art by Kewber Baal
Colors by Schimerys Baal
Letters by Troy Peteri
Covers by Goni Montes, Francesco Francavilla, Kewber Baal & Schimerys Baal, Shouri, Fernando Ruiz
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: October 19, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

Would you look at this, I’m getting to review a Kiss comic. Usually Empress Eve is the one who gets the pleasure of reviewing Kiss items, but as luck would have it, she’s extraordinarily busy right now and I didn’t hesitate to jump on it! So here is Dynamite Entertainment’s KISS #1!

The setup is this: The world reached a point where civilization was in jeopardy and war threatened to exterminate mankind, once and for all. The Great War, as it is now referred to 468 years later, forced a large group of people underground. They pieced together a new society, saving what they could from the surface in an attempt to preserve at least some of their history. For almost five centuries, these survivors have lived in the subterranean city of Blackwell in peace and solitude. But nothing lasts forever.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Britannia #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Britannia #1 Header

Britannia #1
Written by Peter Milligan
Art by Juan Jose Ryp
Colors by Jordie Bellaire
Letters by Dave Sharpe
Covers by Cary Nord, Lewis Larosa and Brian Reber, Andres Guinaldo and Michael Spicer, Ryan Lee and Allen Passalaqua, Dave Johnson
Valiant Entertainment
Release Date: September 21, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

I’m a sucker for all things historic. Even when they aren’t really all that historic. Take this comic, for instance. Britannia #1 is a dark, twisted tale that is set in Rome during the first century. This is the dawn of the Roman Empire as we all know it. But what if the myths and legends of the deities and demigods were based on actual events? This is the state of things as our story begins.

Read on for more details.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Blood & Dust: The Life & Undeath Of Judd Glenny #2
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Blood & Dust: The Life & Undeath Of Judd Glenny #2 header

Blood & Dust: The Life & Undeath Of Judd Glenny #2
Written by William R. Martin and Adam J. Orndorf
Art by Roy Allan Martinez
Colors by Raymund Lee
Letters by Kel Nuttall
Cover by Raymund Lee
Action Lab Comics: Danger Zone
Release Date: September 7, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

This week sees the release of just one comic from Action Lab Comics’ Danger Zone imprint. But that’s just fine since it’s Blood & Dust: The Life & Undeath Of Judd Glenny #2. While it’s a vampire tale, it stands out in that it isn’t your typical blood and guts bloodsucking story. Instead, we get a long-lived undead creature that is trying to settle into his place for all of eternity, all the while protecting his family and, inadvertently, a local township.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Alabaster: The Good, The Bad, and The Bird Hardcover
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Alabaster: The Good, The Bad, And The Bird header

Alabaster: The Good, The Bad, And The Bird Hardcover
Written by Caitlin R. Kiernan
Art by Daniel Warren Johnson
Colors by Carlos Badilla
Letters by Nate Piekos of Blambot
Cover by Greg Ruth
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: August 31, 2016
Cover Price: $19.99

It’s not every day that I get to read an introspective comic book that deals with a character experiencing their own personal hell. But leave it to Dark Horse Comics to give me exactly what I didn’t know I needed! Alabaster: The Good, The Bad, And The Bird is a shining example of why I keep coming back to them for unique stories and comics! Please, allow me to elaborate further.

Dancy Flammarion is dead. She knows it and we know it. But apparently death comes in varying degrees of
permanence, as it seems she is being tempted/threatened with life. And though she repeatedly declines, sometimes events can spiral out of our control. Much akin to her tenuous grasp on her sanity.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Jim Thompson's The Killer Inside Me #1 banner IDW

Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1 (of 5)
Print Edition | Kindle Edition
Writer: Devin Faraci
Artist: Vic Malhotra
Colors: Jason Millet
Letters: Christa Miesner
Cover A: Vic Malhotra
Cover B: Robert Hack
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release date: August 31, 2016
Price: $3.99

When going through this week’s list of comic book releases to choose what I would review, I picked out Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1, but I hadn’t in any way connected it to the original novel, since the review file didn’t reference Thompson. I try to read as many comics as humanly possible every week and I liked the title, since it piqued my curiosity. Now, having prefaced with that boring lead in, I will tell you that as soon as I started reading this issue, it all snapped into focus for me. This was adapted from a book I had read over three decades ago and I remember thinking that I enjoyed the introspection so much that it had most likely darkened my very soul.

For you see, this comic book miniseries from IDW Publishing is based on one of the most influential noir books every produced. Set in a small Texas town in 1952, it has all the appeal of rustic Americana but beneath it all is a darkness that weaves through the lives of all its citizens.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Kingsway West #1
Waerloga69   |  @   |  

Kingsway West #1 header

Kingsway West #1
Written by Greg Pak
Art by Mirko Colak
Colors by Wil Quintana
Letters by Simon Bowland
Cover by Mirko Colak and Wil Quintana
Dark Horse Comics
Release Date: August 24, 2016
Cover Price: $3.99

I’m a long time fan of westerns. I grew up watching The Lone Ranger, Rawhide, Gunsmoke, and the like. The concept of man living so close to nature and constantly at odds with both his environment and other humans appealed to me for some reason. Later, my attention turned to fantasy novels and role-playing games but the love of a good story set in the Old West was always there. So when someone comes along and mixes the two, I’m always down for a good a read. Kingsway West #1 is most definitely trying its best to find a place in my heart.

Read on and I’ll tell you why!

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2520 Clothing Company
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact