head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Comic Spotlight: Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover
Waerloga69   |  

Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover header

Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover
Written by Joe Hill
Art by Gabriel Rodriguez
Colors by Jay Fotos
Letters by Robbie Robbins
IDW Publishing
Release Date: February 15, 2017
Cover Price: $14.99

Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez are back to give us a short one-shot tale of the creepiest family in comicdom. In the Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover we are given not just the twenty-four pages of story but also a lot of background information and setup from the creators. In fact it spans seventy-two pages altogether; that’s a lot of extras!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1
Waerloga69   |  

Jim Thompson's The Killer Inside Me #1 banner IDW

Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1 (of 5)
Print Edition | Kindle Edition
Writer: Devin Faraci
Artist: Vic Malhotra
Colors: Jason Millet
Letters: Christa Miesner
Cover A: Vic Malhotra
Cover B: Robert Hack
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release date: August 31, 2016
Price: $3.99

When going through this week’s list of comic book releases to choose what I would review, I picked out Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1, but I hadn’t in any way connected it to the original novel, since the review file didn’t reference Thompson. I try to read as many comics as humanly possible every week and I liked the title, since it piqued my curiosity. Now, having prefaced with that boring lead in, I will tell you that as soon as I started reading this issue, it all snapped into focus for me. This was adapted from a book I had read over three decades ago and I remember thinking that I enjoyed the introspection so much that it had most likely darkened my very soul.

For you see, this comic book miniseries from IDW Publishing is based on one of the most influential noir books every produced. Set in a small Texas town in 1952, it has all the appeal of rustic Americana but beneath it all is a darkness that weaves through the lives of all its citizens.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Ghostbusters: Deviations (One Shot)
Waerloga69   |  

Ghostbusters: Deviations, One-Shot

Ghostbusters: Deviations (One Shot)
Written by Kelly Thompson
Art by Nelson Daniel
Letters by Neil Uyetake
Covers by Nelson Daniel, Dan Schoening
IDW Publishing
Release Date: March 16, 2016
Cover Price: $4.99

Welcome, one and all, to a story that isn’t quite as you might remember it. This version, aptly titled Ghostbusters: Deviations, is all about what would happen if one key part of the story was changed. This is essentially along the lines of an alternate reality story mashed up with the basic “what if” concept we have seen in the past.

I think the part that stands out the most is that the script changes the story about ten minutes from the end of the first film. The writer chose an important part and changed only one key action. It makes for hilarity in comic form.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Back To The Future #1
Waerloga69   |  

Back To The Future #1 header

Back To The Future #1
Stories by Bob Gale
Scripts by Bob Gale & John Barber (first story), Dan Schoening (second story)
Art by Brent Schoonover (first story), Dan Schoening (second story)
Inks by David Witt (first story)
Colors by Kelly Fitzpatrick (first story), Luis Antonio Delgado (second story)
Letters by Shawn Lee (second story)
Cover by Dan Schoening, Jordie Bellaire, Amy Mebberson, and many more!
IDW Publishing
Release Date: October 21, 2015
Cover Price: $3.99

Great Scott! Could it be? Is it really October 21, 2015? Why, yes. Yes, it is! And to commemorate Back To The Future Day, IDW Publishing has released Back To The Future #1! Based on one of the greatest film trilogies of the twentieth century, this comic book brings us two stories that delve into the days prior to the first film. Everything you ever wanted to know is right here in this comic!*

Like I said, this issue, the first of four in this miniseries, consists of two unique stories. One explores the first meeting of Marty McFly and Doctor Emmett Brown. In the second tale, we see how Emmett becomes part of one of the most significant scientific programs of the twentieth century.

...continue reading »
space
 
Listen Now: ‘Locke & Key’ The Audiobook For FREE!
Henchman21   |  

Locke & Key audiobook

Fans of IDW Publishing’s Locke & Key have had to suffer through a lot of starts and stops when it comes to adapting the comic series into another medium. There was the ill-fated Fox pilot that was never aired, a movie trilogy that appears to not be happening anymore, and the possibility of another TV show, but so far the only other medium Locke & Key has been translated into has been the card game by Cryptozoic Entertainment.

That all changes today, October 5, as Locke & Key has been released as an audiobook, and it’s free for a limited time!

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For September 16, 2015
Henchman21   |  

The GoD List Comics Pull List

Each and every week, I, “What’s Up?” Henchman 21 and “Not Much!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of September 16, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

We’rrrrrrrrrrrrrre baaaaaaaaaaack! Let’s make with the comics already. It’s time to get back in the swing of The GoD List!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Ghostbusters: Get Real #2
PS Hayes   |  

Ghostbusters Ger Real #2 review header

Ghostbusters: Get Real #2
Written by Erik Burnham
Art by Dan Schoening
Colors by Luis Antonio DelGado
Letters by Neil Uyetake
Edits by Tom Waltz
Cover art by Dan Schoening & Luis Antonio DelGado, and Evan “Doc” Shaner
IDW Publishing
Release Date: July 29, 2015
Cover Price: $3.99

Ghostbusters: Get Real #2 is quite possibly the most Ghostbustery comic that I’ve ever read in my life, and I loved every single panel of it! WHO ELSE but the creative team that IDW Publishing put together could pull this off? Nobody, that’s who.

...continue reading »
space
 
The GoD List: Comics For July 23, 2015
Henchman21   |  

The GoD List

Each and every week, I, “Ant-Man!” Henchman 21 and “The Wasp!” Empress Eve read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. Naturally, we look forward to some more than others. I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of our pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of July 23, 2015. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

There are weeks when I get excited about scores of books that are being released. And then there are other weeks. This is one of those other weeks, as we get a whole batch of very good comics; Secret Wars is still rolling, DC continues to roll out new books in their most recent relaunch, IDW, Dark Horse, Image and the others pump out a fine line of books. So, we’re just going with a shorter list this week, including a long running series ending in a spectacular fashion, a book from last week that I didn’t get a chance to talk about, and a book you probably never thought you would see. Let’s get The GoD List started!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Superman: The Atomic Age Sundays, Vol. 1 (1949-1953)
Waerloga69   |  

Superman: The Atomic Age Sundays, Vol. 1 review

Superman: The Atomic Age Sundays, Vol. 1 (1949-1953)
Hardcover
Superman created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Schuster
Scripts by Alvin Schwartz
Art by Wayne Boring
IDW Publishing
Release Date: July 15, 2015
Cover Price: $49.99

First off, let me get one thing straight. I’m no fan of The Man of Steel. That’s right, not loving Big Blue. Now, having said that, I will give credit where it is due; he is an icon and well-loved the world over. But I like to get outside my comfort zone as often as possible and how better to do that than to review a character I don’t really enjoy reading. Therefore, I am happy to review Superman: The Atomic Age Sundays, Vol. 1 (1949-1953).

This hardbound compilation is completely composed of never before reprinted Sunday comics. The time span is October 23, 1949 through March 15, 1953. Looking back on comics as they were presented over six decades ago is akin to staring into the history of America. We not only get a glimpse of the fears and challenges of life back then but we get to look at how less convoluted the world was at that time. Disregarding nostalgia for what it is, the strip presents the reader with a time capsule of sorts, in comic form and in that respect, this book produces something not easily replicated.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Onyx #1
PS Hayes   |  

Onyx #1 review header

Onyx #1
Written by Chris Ryall
Art by Gabriel Rodriguez
Colors by Jay Fotos
Letters by Shawn Lee
Cover art by Gabriel Rodriguez, Ashley Wood, Charles Paul Wilson III, Alan Robinson, and Sal Buscema
IDW Publishing
Release Date: July 1, 2015
Cover Price: $3.99

At the end of Onyx #1 you’re going to hear a bit of a thud. That’s the mic dropping.

Writer Chris Ryall finally brings this labor of love to shelves of comic stores around the world, and boy, can you tell that Ryall loves this book. There’s some comics that I read where I can tell that the creators are just showing up to collect a paycheck, then they’re outta there and on to the their next project. Not so with Ryall and Onyx.

It’s the year 2083 and Earth has more than a few problems. Overpopulation. Lack of food. Lack of space. Oh, there’s also the small issue of an alien invasion, too. Thankfully, along comes the galactic warrior Onyx to help save the planet. Unfortunately for Onyx, the International Global Defense Corps isn’t that keen on Onyx and decide to try and put a stop to it.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact