head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Comic Spotlight: Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #6
Empress Eve   |  

Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #6 Preview

Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #6
Dirk Gently created by Douglas Adams
Written by Arvind Ethan David
Illustrated by Ilias Kyriazis
Colors by Charlie Kirchoff
Letters by Shawn Lee
Executive Producer: Max Landis
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release date: March 22, 2017
Print | Digital

In 2015, IDW Publishing launched an ongoing comic book series for Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, based on the works of Douglas Adams. This was to be a lead-up to the BBC America television series of the same name, which debuted last year. After the first miniseries, the TV show’s executive producer Arvind Ethan David, who had been serving as co-editor on the comic, took over writing duties for the next arc “A Spoon Too Short,” with art by Ilias Kyriazis and colors by Charlie Kirchoff. This next wave also had the distinction of having Max Landis, the television show’s writer and executive producer, on board as executive producer.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: Ghostbusters 101 #1
Empress Eve   |  

Ghostbusters101 #1 Preview head

Ghostbusters 101 #1
Written by Erik Burnham
Illustrated by Dan Schoening
Colors by Luis Antonio Delgado
Letters by Neil Uyetake
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release date: March 22, 2017
Print | Digital

IDW Publishing has launched a new Ghostbusters comic book series, adding to their long list of series for the franchise. This time around, Ghostbusters 101 will bring the world of the original team from the 1980s movies together with the “Answer The Call” crew from the 2016 film, along with some of the characters created for the comic-book universe.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: Darkness Visible #1 By Mike Carey and Arvind Ethan David
Waerloga69   |  

Darkness Visible #1 header

Darkness Visible #1
Written by Mike Carey and Arvind Ethan David
Art by Brendan Cahill
Colors by Joana Lafuente
Letters by Shawn Lee
IDW Publishing
Release Date: February 22, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

Wouldn’t it be great if you could literally see the evil in the world? What if the evil that was in mankind was there by their choice? Maybe they made a bargain of sorts? Well, Darkness Visible #1, from writers Mike Carey (Unwritten, Lucifer, Girl with All the Gifts) and Arvind Ethan David (Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency), explores something quite similar to that concept. For you see, the evil does walk among us! In many cases, they are us.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: 30 Days Of Night 15th Anniversary Edition TPB
Empress Eve   |  

30 Days of Night 15th Anniversary Edition comic book banner

30 Days of Night 15th Anniversary Edition
Written by Steve Niles
Art by Ben Templesmith
Letters by Robbie Robbins
Cover Art by Ben Templesmith
Trade Paperback
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release Date: March 8, 2017

Fifteen years ago, a new comic book miniseries from IDW Publishing hit the shelves taking us to Barrow, Alaska, North America’s northernmost community, where the temperatures range from “cold as shit to fucking freezing,” and each year, the Sun does not rise for 30 straight days. The series begins on the last day of sunshine before the month of darkness begins, but this time around, vampires have arrived for unhampered access to sustenance of the human variety.

That 3-issue miniseries was 30 Days of Night and it put horror writer Steve Niles and artist Ben Templesmith on the map.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: Highlander: The American Dream #1
Waerloga69   |  

Highlander: The American Dream #1 header

Highlander: The American Dream #1
Written by Brian Ruckley
Art by Andrea Mutti
Colors by Vladimir Popov
Letters by Chris Mowry
Cover by Francesco Francavilla, Claudia Gironi
IDW Publishing
Release Date: February 22, 2017
Cover Price: $3.99

Over thirty years since the release of the original film and the franchise still holds just as much magic for me now as it did then. I speak, of course, of the movie Highlander. With the release of this newest comic Highlander: The American Dream #1, I find myself drawn back into the world of sword swinging immortals and their quest to be the last of their kind. As it is so eloquently put: “There can be only one.”

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Spotlight: Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover
Waerloga69   |  

Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover header

Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover
Written by Joe Hill
Art by Gabriel Rodriguez
Colors by Jay Fotos
Letters by Robbie Robbins
IDW Publishing
Release Date: February 15, 2017
Cover Price: $14.99

Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez are back to give us a short one-shot tale of the creepiest family in comicdom. In the Locke & Key: Small World Deluxe Hardcover we are given not just the twenty-four pages of story but also a lot of background information and setup from the creators. In fact it spans seventy-two pages altogether; that’s a lot of extras!

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1
Waerloga69   |  

Jim Thompson's The Killer Inside Me #1 banner IDW

Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1 (of 5)
Print Edition | Kindle Edition
Writer: Devin Faraci
Artist: Vic Malhotra
Colors: Jason Millet
Letters: Christa Miesner
Cover A: Vic Malhotra
Cover B: Robert Hack
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Release date: August 31, 2016
Price: $3.99

When going through this week’s list of comic book releases to choose what I would review, I picked out Jim Thompson’s The Killer Inside Me #1, but I hadn’t in any way connected it to the original novel, since the review file didn’t reference Thompson. I try to read as many comics as humanly possible every week and I liked the title, since it piqued my curiosity. Now, having prefaced with that boring lead in, I will tell you that as soon as I started reading this issue, it all snapped into focus for me. This was adapted from a book I had read over three decades ago and I remember thinking that I enjoyed the introspection so much that it had most likely darkened my very soul.

For you see, this comic book miniseries from IDW Publishing is based on one of the most influential noir books every produced. Set in a small Texas town in 1952, it has all the appeal of rustic Americana but beneath it all is a darkness that weaves through the lives of all its citizens.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Ghostbusters: Deviations (One Shot)
Waerloga69   |  

Ghostbusters: Deviations, One-Shot

Ghostbusters: Deviations (One Shot)
Written by Kelly Thompson
Art by Nelson Daniel
Letters by Neil Uyetake
Covers by Nelson Daniel, Dan Schoening
IDW Publishing
Release Date: March 16, 2016
Cover Price: $4.99

Welcome, one and all, to a story that isn’t quite as you might remember it. This version, aptly titled Ghostbusters: Deviations, is all about what would happen if one key part of the story was changed. This is essentially along the lines of an alternate reality story mashed up with the basic “what if” concept we have seen in the past.

I think the part that stands out the most is that the script changes the story about ten minutes from the end of the first film. The writer chose an important part and changed only one key action. It makes for hilarity in comic form.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Back To The Future #1
Waerloga69   |  

Back To The Future #1 header

Back To The Future #1
Stories by Bob Gale
Scripts by Bob Gale & John Barber (first story), Dan Schoening (second story)
Art by Brent Schoonover (first story), Dan Schoening (second story)
Inks by David Witt (first story)
Colors by Kelly Fitzpatrick (first story), Luis Antonio Delgado (second story)
Letters by Shawn Lee (second story)
Cover by Dan Schoening, Jordie Bellaire, Amy Mebberson, and many more!
IDW Publishing
Release Date: October 21, 2015
Cover Price: $3.99

Great Scott! Could it be? Is it really October 21, 2015? Why, yes. Yes, it is! And to commemorate Back To The Future Day, IDW Publishing has released Back To The Future #1! Based on one of the greatest film trilogies of the twentieth century, this comic book brings us two stories that delve into the days prior to the first film. Everything you ever wanted to know is right here in this comic!*

Like I said, this issue, the first of four in this miniseries, consists of two unique stories. One explores the first meeting of Marty McFly and Doctor Emmett Brown. In the second tale, we see how Emmett becomes part of one of the most significant scientific programs of the twentieth century.

...continue reading »
space
 
Listen Now: ‘Locke & Key’ The Audiobook For FREE!
Henchman21   |  

Locke & Key audiobook

Fans of IDW Publishing’s Locke & Key have had to suffer through a lot of starts and stops when it comes to adapting the comic series into another medium. There was the ill-fated Fox pilot that was never aired, a movie trilogy that appears to not be happening anymore, and the possibility of another TV show, but so far the only other medium Locke & Key has been translated into has been the card game by Cryptozoic Entertainment.

That all changes today, October 5, as Locke & Key has been released as an audiobook, and it’s free for a limited time!

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact