space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Oni Press Releases For April 13, 2016
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Oni Press releases

Below you’ll find the solicitations information and cover artwork for all of Oni Press comic book titles that were released on April 13, 2016. The trade at the end of the list is my pick of the Oni books this week!

Heartthrob #1Heartthrob #1

Writer: Christopher Sebela
Artist: Robert Wilson IV with Nick Filardi
$3.99

A new series about bank heists and thieving hearts from writer Christopher Sebela (Welcome Back), artist Robert Wilson IV (Bitch Planet), and colorist Nick Filardi (Powers).

Callie Boudreau hasn’t been herself lately. After a lifetime sidelined by illness, she’s rescued by a miracle cure in the form of heart transplant surgery, but the life she returns to doesn’t fit her anymore. Besides the morally questionable job, the crappy boyfriend and the crippling hospital bills, Callie finds herself developing new tastes, unfamiliar urges and a mouth like a sailor. As she balances what she has to do with what she wants to do, a mystery man shows up to teach her that instead of waiting for her new life, she should go out and steal it.

Why It’s Neat:

A new crime series that’s one part Fight Club, one part Bonnie & Clyde, and one part True Romance.
This heist romance comic is a perfect series for fans of Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky’s Sex Criminals or Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie’s The Wicked + The Divine.
A crime epic starring thieving lovers, Heartthrob mixes bullets, bank jobs, and David Bowie in equal measure.
Fans of Robert Wilson IV’s Penny Rolle issue of Kelly Sue DeConnick’s Bitch Planet will love heroine Callie Boudreau. She’s sick and tired of being sick and tired, and transforms into a moltov cocktail of piss and vinegar after learning how to take scores.

What the creators have to say:

Writer Christopher Sebela says,”I think if people are just looking for a crime book, this will totally scratch that itch, if people just want a romance book, same deal, and the weird mutants like us who want both, they’re going to be super happy.”
Artist Robert Wilson IV says, “Heartthob is like Fight Club if Jack was Jill, and she made out with Tyler Durden a lot.”
Colorist Nick Filardi says, “I’m going to try to give the readers who appreciate color hints and rewards as much as possible.”

This is a new series from a terrific team of creators, get in on the ground floor!

Another Castle #2Another Castle #2

Author: Andrew Wheeler
Artist: Paulina Ganucheau
$3.99

Pete, while steadfast and good-hearted, is not the best at defeating monsters. He does, however, have the only sword that can kill Badlug and free Grimoire from tyranny. Misty and Gorga need to clear the way for Pete; thankfully, they meet Zurrd, a witch with (somewhat) impressive powers and the key to Pete’s deliverance. Unfortunately, it’s in the Dark Treasury, which is nigh impossible to break into. Nigh impossible is still technically possible, though!

Why It’s Neat:

The gorgeous retailer incentive alternate cover illustrated by Kevin Wada shows off the hunkalicious Prince Babe—I mean Pete, PRINCE PETE.
Princess Misty takes her fate in her own hands and forms a plan of escape!
You asked for it, and you got it—more of the fan favorite characters, the beloved Fogmoth and Gorga!
Badass old lady witches, tough as dragon scales lady ogres, AWESOME LADIES BEING AWESOME!

What the creators have to say:

Writer Andrew Wheeler says, “Issue #2 features a bank heist, so there’s probably more to this story than you’re expecting! Also, we have a rat-headed minotaur. He’s called the verminotaur.”
Artist Paulina Ganucheau says, “There’s also a bar scene full of lady ogres. If that’s not a draw I don’t know what is.”

I missed the first one but this issue is chock full of zaniness and hilarity!

Letter 44 #24Letter 44 #24

Writer: Charles Soule
Artist: Alberto Jiménez Alburquerque
$3.99

Charlotte has taken matters into her own hands in order to get baby Astra back from the Builders, and it just might cost her life. Major Drum continues his confession, shedding some light on the early days of the Clarke mission, while ex-President Carroll calls an old friend for some dirty business.

Why It’s Neat:

Written by the UNSTOPPABLE Charles Soule (Daredevil, Star Wars: Poe Dameron, Star Wars: Obi-Wan & Anakin, Uncanny Inhumans) and illustrated by Alberto Jiménez Alburquerque (Mystery Girl).
Charlotte is in hot water—find out if her mission to save Astra is successful!
Also, the return of everyone’s favorite dirty business-for-hire man.

Stringers TPBStringers TPB

Writer: Marc Guggenheim
Artist: Justin Greenwood with Ryan Hill
$19.99

Paul and Nick are the guys who shoot the news. Filming car chases, fires, and shootouts in their busted-up rig, they put their (uninsured, unsalaried) lives on the line every night so that the good citizens of Los Angeles can get their daily update. But when a firefight between the LAPD and the MS-13 goes wrong, Paul and Nick find themselves on the run.

From writer Marc Guggenheim (co-showrunner of CW’s Arrow, executive producer of DC’s Legends of Tomorrow) and artist Justin Greenwood (Stumptown, The Fuse) comes an action-packed new miniseries about crime, corruption, and the perfect shot.

Why It’s Neat:

A fast-paced adrenaline rush that feels like an action movie.
Like CRANK and DIE HARD, this story takes place in one day!
Hilarious banter and creative onomatopoeia sounds effects mixed with heart-stopping action!
THEY ALMOST GET RUN OVER BY A PLANE.

This is definitely my favorite, fusing my love of comics with motion picture style action! Self contained and utterly thrill packed!

space
space
Previous Article
space
Next Article
«
»
space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space