space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Oni Press Comic Releases For June 8, 2016
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Oni Press comic book releases

Below you’ll find the solicitations information and cover artwork for all of theOni Press comic book titles that were released yesterday, June 8, 2016. I’m really digging the Merry Men #1 this week, what a fun twist with a bit of historical theory!

Merry Men #1Merry Men #1

Writer(s): Robert Rodi (@robert_rodi)
Artist Name(s): Jackie Lewis (@ackimakescomics)
Color Artist(s): Marissa Louise (@marissadraws)
Cover Artist(s): Jackie Lewis (Cover A), Ed Luce (Cover B, @wuvableoaf)
$3.99

13th century England. Robert Godwinson, former lover of King Richard, lives with his band of Merry Men in Sherwood Forest, away from the watchful eye of Prince John, who has outlawed homosexuality. Though isolated, the men live in peace–that is, until a stranger approaches their camp asking for aid to a nearby town under siege by the Sheriff of Nottingham. Robert–nicknamed Robin–is reluctant to help, but equally eager to get rid of this perplexing stranger… and to put his formidable bow-and-arrow to use. It’s Robin Hood like you’ve never seen him before, based on scholarly speculation about what’s really behind the outlaw’s legend.

Why It’s Neat:

Written by Robert Rodi (Astonishing Thor, Codename: Knockout), illustrated by Jackie Lewis (The Lion of Rora), and colored by Marissa Louise (Mystery Girl).
It’s perfect for fans of Midnighter, Constantine: The Hellblazer, and Angela: Asgard’s Assassin.
It’s an LGBTQ+ comic that features an entire cast with queer, bisexual, and transgender characters.
Includes factual extras about queer history in the chapter breaks!
Get the incentive alternate cover at your local comic book shop, illustrated by Ed Luce, creator of the hilarious Wuvable Oaf!

What the creators have to say:
Writer Robert Rodi says, “There’s romance, adventure, palace intrigue, military campaigns, religious friction, bloodshed, sex, and vile, dastardly villains. I’m trying to be as true to 12th century verisimilitude as possible, while still telling a story 21st century readers—especially 21st century queer readers—can identify with. And even if you can’t identify with it, you can still ogle Jackie’s super-hot take on western civilization’s prototype lumbersexuals.”

Artist Jackie Lewis says, “As a queer creator with a bunch of queer friends, it’s awesome to see such a well-known fictional character get reimagined in a way that reflects my life and experiences. (Plus, I get to draw a bunch of hotties!)”

Colorist Marissa Louise says, “It’s great to see a book casually talking about real trans identities in a fun, fictional context.”

Kaijumax Season 2 #2Kaijumax Season 2 #2

Writer/Artist: Zander Cannon (@zander_cannon)
$3.99

During a prison-wide lockdown, Leader of the Nation of Mecha Mechazon writes an impassioned letter to convince his police officer sister that she’s working for an oppressive system, while the tension between the Humongo Brothers reaches the boiling point. Also: Gangland slayings! Rap battles! A hole in the head! And… Moon bunnies?

Why It’s Neat:

Nominated for “Best New Series” in the 2016 Eisner Awards!
It’s time for a good ol’ Green Humungo vs. Red Humungo RAP BATTLE! Things are about to get woke af.
Rookie officer Chisato experiences her first bad day on the job… GET READY FOR THE FEELS.

Invader Zim #10Invader Zim #10

Writer(s): Dennis and Jessie Hopeless (@HopelessDent, @hotdoghater)
Artist(s): Dave Crosland (@DaveCrosland)
Color Artist(s): Warren Wucinich (@warrenwucinich)
Cover Artist(s): Dave Crosland and Warren Wucinich (Cover A), Louie del Carmen (Cover B, @LouiedelCarmen)
$3.99

After witnessing a shameless and pathetic human ritual known as a “Talent Show”, in which the winner gets PRAISE and EXULTATION for just bringing in some cool animal, ZIM decides to capture a Snarlbeast, one of the most feared monsters in the galaxy. Then, how the humans will worship him!

Why It’s Neat:

Written by Harvey Award winner Dennis Hopeless (Spider-Woman, All-New X-Men) and Jessie Hopeless!
Introducing the most terrifying alien monster in the universe: the Snarlbeast!
There’s also a cool snake-bro named Commander Squeezers, so if that doesn’t interest you then what the heck DOES?!

space
space
Previous Article
space
Next Article
«
»
space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space