space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Audiobook Review: Angel Catbird By Margaret Atwood
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Angel Catbird Header

Angel Catbird
Audiobook
Written by Margaret Atwood
Narrated by‎ Kyra Harper,‎ Allegra Fulton,‎ Christo Graham,‎ Julie Le Mieux,‎ David Calderisi,‎ Michael Cash,‎ Andrew Jackson
Audible Studios
Release Date: February 13, 2018

I’m no stranger to audiobooks, but I dare say few have been in radio play format. I wanted to call Angel Catbird a radio drama but that would be a misnomer. For while it embodies the same concepts at its core, there was little dramatic about it. Words I would use instead include hilarious, rollicking, and ludicrous. It was almost off-putting at first for I had never read one of author Margaret Atwood‘s comics before, instead having consumed her novels in the past. As I listened longer, however, I found it quite amusing and even began to laugh while the audiobook played out.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: ‘Child Of A Mad God’ By R.A. Salvatore
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Child Of A Mad God by R.A. Salvatore

Child Of A Mad God
A Tale Of The Coven
Hardcover | Kindle | Audiobook
By R.A. Salvatore
Tor Books
Release Date: February 6, 2018

From R.A. Salvatore, the fantasy demi-god that brought us Drizzt Do’Urden and Cadderly, comes a brand new series, The Coven! The first book, Child Of A Mad God, introduces readers to a new world with all new people and creatures. It is one wild ride watching these events unfold, in typical Salvatore fashion. Curious? I bet. Allow me to explain further.

In a desolate area on a formerly unknown world, readers are subjected to a bombardment of new sights and ideas. Fans, old and new, will notice almost no similarities between this new series and anything the author has previously written. Great thought and care went into the creation of this new world, something Salvatore knows well since he has previously created other worldscapes. While most of his writings have taken place in the Forgotten Realms setting, he has, nevertheless, created several other planes of existence to house his ever-growing collection of heroes and villains.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Harry Potter: The Wand Collection
space
Pfeff-Bot   |  
space

Harry Potter The Wand Collection Banner

Harry Potter: The Wand Collection
Hardcover
By Monique Peterson
Publisher: Insight Editions
Release date: November 14, 2017

“Every wand has a story of its own,” author Monique Peterson begins in her new book, Harry Potter: The Wand Collection. Admittedly, I’m hooked almost immediately. Still, I am not always one for the many informational index-style books published as part of the Harry Potter world. I like stories, depth, nostalgia in my Harry Potter books.

But Peterson does not disappoint, as this book is as visually appealing and easy to flip through as it is meaningful. There is certainly value added in the background information provided, which covers wand characteristics, the wandmakers, Ollivander, wand selection and Harry’s first wand, wand movement, and wand battles.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Xanathar’s Guide To Everything
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Dungeons & Dragons Xanathar's Guide To Everything book banner

Dungeons & Dragons: Xanathar’s Guide To Everything
Hardcover
D&D Accessory
Wizards of the Coast
Release Date: November 21, 2017

Creating magic as they always do, the creative team at Wizards of the Coast has deemed the world worthy of a new guide book. Xanathar’s Guide To Everything is an essential addition to the world’s greatest roleplaying game, Dungeons & Dragons! And better yet, at least for me, these great folks sent me not just an advance copy but they, in fact, sent me two! One of each cover. But enough of my shameless bragging, let me tell you about this newest release!

This tome is comprised of almost 200 pages of lore, ranging from arcane spells and items to specialization and options within character classes. This is in addition to the additional material presented for Dungeon Masters. In fact, the supplemental book is broken into three primary parts with two additional appendices. So much is packed within these pages that I will probably not even begin to do it justice. Nevertheless, I will do my best.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: The Art Of Harry Potter
space
Pfeff-Bot   |  
space

The Art Of Harry Potter hardcover book cover

The Art of Harry Potter
Hardcover
By Marc Sumerak
Publisher: Harper Design | HarperCollins
Release date: November 21, 2017

Some might call it coincidental. I call it cosmic. Not only do I have the opportunity of writing a review on The Art of Harry Potter by Marc Sumerak today, but I may or may not – by happenstance – be currently cozying up in my comfy chair by the fireplace wearing a Harry Potter-themed tee shirt. It’s getting *quite* magical over here, and I invite you to join me.

The Art of Harry Potter features original art from the Harry Potter films and it is magnificent. Its massive dimensions (10.1” width x 13.1” height x 1.7″ depth) are only outmatched by its heft, which I consider a positive. It evokes the feeling of having access to a large, valuable volume…perhaps something found in the restricted section of the Hogwarts library?

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Ramses The Damned: The Passion Of Cleopatra By Anne Rice & Christopher Rice
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Ramses the Damned: The Passion of Cleopatra by Anne Rice, Christopher RIce

Ramses the Damned: The Passion of Cleopatra
Ramses The Damned #2
Paperback | Kindle | Audiobook
By Anne Rice & Christopher Rice
Publisher: Anchor Books
Release Date: November 21, 2017

The Mummy, or Ramses the Damned is my favorite of all things Anne Rice. For almost thirty years, I have loved that novel. The elegance and horror that exist side by side on those pages embodies everything I look for in a book. In no way is it the perfect example of any particular writing style or genre; instead it is a spectacular balance of the greatness that is needed to create a classical work of prose.

So you can only begin to imagine how ecstatic I was to learn that Rice was reviving these characters for a new release titled Ramses the Damned: The Passion of Cleopatra. This was to be a dream come true, literally (pun intended).

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Star Wars Stormtroopers: Beyond The Armor (Journey To Star Wars: The Last Jedi)
space
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  
space

Star Wars Stormtroopers: Beyond The Armor book banner

Star Wars Stormtroopers: Beyond The Armor
Star Wars: Journey To Star Wars: The Last Jedi
Hardcover | Kindle
By Ryder Windham & Adam Bray
Foreword by John Boyega
Publisher: Harper Design | HarperCollins
Release date: October 24, 2017

A long time ago in a galaxy far far away, some of the greatest and most unique characters in the history of motion pictures were created by George Lucas for Star Wars. Their names are part of Americana, engrained in zeitgeist forever. Luke, Vader, Han, Leia, Yoda, Boba Fett… the list goes on and on. We met aliens from across the universe, droids of all shapes and sizes, and a giant lovable walking furball named Chewbacca. From May 1977 all the way till December 2015, there was one group of Star Wars characters that remained an interchangeable array of white body armor, bulky helmets, and blasters guaranteed to miss every time. They were the Stormtroopers. Now as you prepare for Star Wars: The Last Jedi this Winter, tide over the Star Wars superfan in your family with the ultimate behind the scenes guide to Star Wars forgotten masses with Star Wars Stormtroopers: Beyond the Armor, published by Harper Design.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: The Book Of Alien: Augmented Reality Survival Manual
space
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  
space

Book of Alien: Augmented Reality Survival Manual review

The Book Of Alien: Augmented Reality Survival Manual
Hardcover
By Owen Williams
Publisher: Harper Design | HarperCollins
Release date: November 14, 2017

Remember those video game guide books that were sold in the magazine section at local book stores? Imagine if someone took one of those and turned it into a gorgeous hardcover coffee-table book with high quality images throughout. That’s what it felt like reading The Book of Alien: Augmented Reality Survival Manual by Owen Williams. The book, from Harper Design, doubles as a beautiful assortment of photos and artwork from the Alien franchise as well as an interactive game you play on your phone.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Demon Freaks By J.R.R.R. Hardison
space
Olympus Athens   |  @   |  
space

Demon Freaks Header

Demon Freaks
Paperback | Kindle
By J.R.R.R. Hardison
Publisher: Fiery Seas Publishing
Release Date: October 3, 2017

The Slaughter twins could not be more different, although identical. In a band with their friends Meat and Kaitlyn, they decide to spend the night at a cabin studying for the SATs, but they know they will probably just jam all night. In trouble with their uptight teacher, and looking at a bleak future working at their parents’ McDonalds store, their whole adult lives may ride on this test. A freak storm brings their freaky murderous teacher, some freaky demonic followers, and some freaky golfers (?) to their doorstep, and from there it is a race for survival. Especially, after their drummer gets possessed by a dagger. Yes. A dagger.

More below about Demon Freaks by J.R.R.R. Hardison.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Strange Weather: Four Short Novels By Joe Hill
space
Olympus Athens   |  @   |  
space

Strange Weather book review

Strange Weather: Four Short Novels
Hardcover | Paperback | Kindle | Audiobook
By Joe Hill
Publisher: William Morrow
Release Date: October 24th, 2017

A fat boy takes on a polaroid-snapping, spirit-sucking menace in “Snapshot.” A reporter tries to find the truth within a gunshot filled “Loaded.” Skydiving takes a strangely unique turn in “Aloft.” In “Rain,” a perfect summer day turns deadly, as a deluge of needles murder much of Boulder, Colorado. This was the horrific collection I did not know I was waiting for!

More below on Strange Weather: Four Short Novels by Joe Hill.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2017 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space