space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Game Review: South Park: The Fractured But Whole
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

South Park: The Fractured But Whole Header

South Park: The Fractured But Whole
XBOX ONE l PS4 l PC
DEVELOPER: Ubisoft San Francisco
PUBLISHER: Ubisoft
RELEASE DATE: October 17, 2017

One of my favorite games of 2014 was South Park: The Stick of Truth. A game that transported fans into the world we’ve been watching on TV for a couple of decades now. Now the highly anticipated sequel, South Park: The Fractured But Whole, has arrived.

In the game you once again play as the new kid in town, a frustratingly quiet kid who also happens to possess some impressive special abilities, especially in the art of flatulence. And as you quickly find out, the neighborhood children are no longer playing in the fantastical world they were in the first game. Now, they’ve moved on to superhero franchises.

...continue reading »
space
 
Book Review: Dungeons & Dragons: Tomb Of Annihilation
space
Waerloga69   |  @   |  
space

Tomb of Annihilation Header

Dungeons & Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation
Hardcover
D&D Accessory
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
Release Date: September 19, 2017

Man, I love Wizards of the Coast. This past weekend I came back from a conference in Orlando to find a package waiting on my desk. I dropped everything and tore the box open to find not just the hardcover Dungeons & Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation but also the companion dice set and a load of stickers and literature for this amazing new adventure! I am including a photo below but hang on for the review as this is one wild ride of a story line!

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: Observer
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

Observer

Observer
Xbox One l PS4 l PC
DEVELOPER: Bloober Team
PUBLISHER: Aspyr Media
RELEASE DATE: Aug 15, 2017

From Bloober Team, the developer behind the 2015 horror Layers of Fear, comes a cyberpunk horror titled Observer (stylized as >observer_).

The game is set in the year 2084, in a dark and depressing world that’s the result of two devastating events: the Nanophage—a sort of computer virus which caused thousands of deaths when it affected the cybernetic augmentations most people now have in their bodies—and a massive nuclear war known as the Great Decimation, which killed millions and left many areas of the planet uninhabitable. You play as Daniel Lazarski (Rutger Hauer), a neural detective called an Observer who’s able to dive deep into the minds of others to acquire necessary information.

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: Prey
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

Prey

Prey
Xbox One l PS4 l PC
DEVELOPER: Arkane Studios
PUBLISHER: Bethesda Softworks
RELEASE DATE: May 5, 2017

In the recently released Prey from Dishonored developer Arkane Studios and The Elder Scrolls and Fallout publisher Bethesda Softworks, you play as Morgan Yu aboard the space station Talos I.

The game is a re-imagining. A game of the same name was released in 2006, and a sequel to that was in development for a long time. But eventually it was decided to start from scratch.

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: Little Nightmares
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

Little Nightmares #1

Little Nightmares
AVAILABLE ON: Xbox One, PS4, PC
DEVELOPER: Tarsier Studios
PUBLISHER: Bandai Namco
RELEASE DATE: April 28, 2017

We’ve seen some impressive previews of the indie horror Little Nightmares, so I was excited to dive in and try not to die. Spoiler alert: I died. Lots.

In the game, you play as a tiny little girl named Six. And when I say tiny, I do mean tiny. She looks like she weighs only a few pounds, as you can see in the images. Small and seemingly helpless, Six is also all alone in this dark, depressing little world known as The Maw. Why you’re there, how you got there in the first place, why you’re alone, where you need to go—none of these things are known. You simply start the game by getting up, and beginning to make your way through this terrible place, navigating its many dangers on your journey.

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: Late Shift
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

Late Shift

Late Shift
AVAILABLE ON: Xbox One, PS4, PC, Mac
DEVELOPER: CtrlMovie
PUBLISHER: Wales Interactive
RELEASE DATE: April 18, 2017

Another fully live-action video game/interactive story, Late Shift is a crime thriller in which your choices determine how the story will play out.

The story opens with a student named Matt (Joe Sowerbutts) heading to his night job as a security guard. While on the job, a boring evening quickly takes a drastic turn when he finds himself being kidnapped at gunpoint and being forced to fill in on a heist. That’s where the roller coaster ride begins, and it’s up to you to decide how it all plays out. Will you jump on opportunities to try to escape or foil the criminals’ plans; do you play along as best you can for fear of your own well-being; or do you, with a promise of a cut of the prize, take a detour from your boring day-to-day existence and live a little dangerously.

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: Knee Deep
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

Knee Deep

Knee Deep
DEVELOPER: Prologue Games
PUBLISHER: Wales Interactive
RELEASE DATE: January 31 (PS4), February 3 (Xbox One) 2017

Have a seat, ladies and gentlemen, and let me tell you about a little indie game called Knee Deep.

Part mystery, part stage play, this is one strange ride. The game follows the investigation of the suicide of a famous actor in a small town in Florida. As those investigating begin to dig, a chain of events starts to unfold and the story becomes much larger than it initially seemed. But how things play out while those events are unfolding is where you come in.

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: Dishonored 2
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

Dishonored 2

Dishonored 2
Xbox One l PS4 l PC
DEVELOPER: Arkane Studios
PUBLISHER: Bethesda Softworks
RELEASE DATE: November 11, 2016

The sequel to 2012’s Dishonored arrived last week and I, quite excitedly, got to check it out and am here to share some thoughts for those on the fence about buying it.

In Dishonored 2, once again developed by Arkane Studios, you’re able to choose between playing as Corvo Attano, who everyone who played the first game played as; and young Empress Emily Kaldwin, who was a child caught in the middle of a nasty situation during the events of the original. It also takes you away from the city of Dunwall and into the coastal city of Karnaca, the capital of Serkonos known as “The Jewel of the South at the Edge of the World.”

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: The Bunker
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

The Bunker

I’ve played a lot of video games in my day, but don’t recall many—if any at all—that included live-action gameplay. I’m sure there’s been a couple along the way, most likely in some arcade in the ’90s, but nothing I remember specifically. Recently I got to play the excellent Quantum Break, which included live-action episodes within the game but not live-action gameplay.

So when I first heard about co-developers Wales Interactive’s and Splendy Games’ The Bunker—a game that’s entirely live-action, and was filmed in an actual decommissioned nuclear bunker—earlier this month, my attention was surely obtained. The game releases this week, and I was able to give it a try. You can read my thoughts on it below!

...continue reading »
space
 
Game Review: DOOM
space
The Movie God   |  @   |  
space

DOOM

DOOM
XBOX ONE (Physical l Digital), PS4 (Physical l Digital), PC (Physical l Digital)
DEVELOPER: id Software
PUBLISHER: Bethesda Softworks
RELEASE DATE: May 13, 2016

The return of DOOM arrived a little over a week ago with the release of the latest installment in the hit first-person shooter series, a reboot of the franchise from original developer id Software.

I’m in an interesting position reviewing this one, as I’ve never actually played any of the DOOM games before. No, I can’t believe it either! My first-person shooter experience in the ’90s was with another id Software title (and another series now published by Bethesda), Wolfenstein 3D. But after seeing trailers and gameplay, I was excited to dive into the madness.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2017 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space