space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
The GoD List: Comics For June 6, 2012
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

GoD List Banner

Each and every week “Gainfully Employed” MK2Fac3 and “Two More Vodka Cranberries, Please!” Henchman21 read a lot of comics. Seriously you guys, a lot of comics. Maybe too many comics. I mean, it is possible… theoretically. They look forward to some more than others, I mean, who doesn’t? So, let’s take a look into the depths of their pull lists, grab some comics, and we’ll let YOU know what the top books to look forward to are for the week of June 6, 2012. Single issues and trades, they’re all here.

Guys, a lot has happened over the past week. I got a job, Henchman got a mohawk, and DC Comics thought it would be a good idea to release Watchmen prequels! Well, if you want to read about that, then you can just go look to another article, because there will be none of that here! What will be here? Well, we’ve got some pleasant surprises for you, so just keep on reading as we show you The GoD List, a place where you will find out all of the comics that you should be reading this week!

...continue reading »
space
 
It’s Official: DC Comics Outs The Original Green Lantern Alan Scott
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

Earth 2 #3 by Ivan Reis, Joe Prado and Rod Reis

DC Comics revealed today that the original Green Lantern Alan Scott of alternate reality based Earth 2 is being re-imagined as one of the publishing company’s highest profile homosexual male characters.

Alan Scott will be revealed to be gay next Wednesday in Earth 2 #2 by James Robinson and Nicola Scott. Earth 2, for those unaware, is an alternate reality in the DC Comics Universe that features several characters and heroes who are slightly different than they’re main-world counterparts. Prior to the New 52 relaunch, Earth 2 was a world in which the golden age heroes from DC’s past were alive and well, and in the New 52’s Universe, while a lot of the character names are the same, each of these characters has drastically changed. For example, the power source for Earth 2’s Flash, Jay Garrick, comes from the mythological god Mercury, and Green Lantern Alan Scott appears to be an appointed member of the Green Lantern Corps by the Guardians of the Universe, as noted by his lantern emblem, instead of being granted powers through magic. Earth 2 is a much younger and more relevant take on the characters from The Golden Age.

...continue reading »
space
 
DC Relaunch: Six Comics Canceled and Replaced With ‘Second Wave’
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

relaunch bannerDC Comics announced on Thursday that they would be setting up the second wave of “New 52” releases while also canceling six ongoing comics that were released in the initial run of the DC Relaunch.

Resting in peace are six comics that were quite good and enjoyable or had a lot of potential to be great, so they will definitely be missed. Those comic books are Blackhawks – a war comic focusing on a group of militaristic mercenaries in the vein of G.I. Joe; Hawk and Dove – the only DC book written by the extremely talented Sterling Gates with art from Rob Liefeld (more on him in another article); Men of War – a war book that was one of my favorite comics of the relaunch that took a realistic approach to the military in a world full of superheroes; Mister Terrific – one of the very few DC comics with a person of color as the leading role. Also, the main character was highly intelligent and, interestingly enough in a comic, atheist. O.M.A.C. – this to me is a tragedy considering that it was a fan favorite even in the light of poor sales. Sure it’s bizarre and nutso, but it was a complete blast to read. And finally Static Shock – one of, if not the only book that could be considered “youthful” and “fun,” and also one of the few books starring a person of color. All of these titles will see their last issues in April.

...continue reading »
space
space space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space