space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Use This Marvel Comics Calendar From 1981 For 2015
space
Empress Eve   |  @   |  
space

Marvel 1981 Calendar August

It’s the start of a new year, time for a new calendar!

And as it turns out, calendar years occasionally repeat. For instance, 2015’s days and dates line up exactly with those of 1981. So, cartoonist Mark Anderson took his copy of a Marvel Comics 20th Anniversary calendar from 1981 and lovingly scanned and posted the pages online for all to use!

The 1981 calendar features beloved Marvel characters like Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, The Hulk, and others created by artists like Bill Sienkiewicz, Joe Sinnott, John Romita Jr., Frank Miller, George Perez, and more.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: Youngblood #75
space
PS Hayes   |  @   |  
space

Youngblood #75Youngblood #75
Story by Jim McLaughlin
Art by Jon Malin
Colors by Ross Hughes
Letters by Rus Wooton
Script Assistance by Manolis Vamvounis
Covers by Rob Liefeld & Mike Capprotti, Rob Liefeld & Todd McFarlane, Rob Liefeld, Ryan Ottley and George Perez
Image Comics
Release Date: January 2, 2013
Cover Price: $4.99

Say what you will about its creator, but Youngblood #75 is just balls out FUN! This is totally a 90’s comic set in modern times, and that’s exactly what it should be. Looking for fun? You found it!

Jim McLaughlin puts out another great issue of this classic Image series. I can’t tell you enough how much PURE fun this book is! It’s got all the hallmarks of the Youngblood series that we grew up with, only better. There’s TONS of action, snappy dialogue, great superhero stuff, and a little touch of modern day situations. Besides the main story, McLaughlin sneaks in a couple of really interesting subplots that are going to be pretty fantastic when they come to fruition.

...continue reading »
space
 
DC Relaunch: Six Comics Canceled and Replaced With ‘Second Wave’
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

relaunch bannerDC Comics announced on Thursday that they would be setting up the second wave of “New 52” releases while also canceling six ongoing comics that were released in the initial run of the DC Relaunch.

Resting in peace are six comics that were quite good and enjoyable or had a lot of potential to be great, so they will definitely be missed. Those comic books are Blackhawks – a war comic focusing on a group of militaristic mercenaries in the vein of G.I. Joe; Hawk and Dove – the only DC book written by the extremely talented Sterling Gates with art from Rob Liefeld (more on him in another article); Men of War – a war book that was one of my favorite comics of the relaunch that took a realistic approach to the military in a world full of superheroes; Mister Terrific – one of the very few DC comics with a person of color as the leading role. Also, the main character was highly intelligent and, interestingly enough in a comic, atheist. O.M.A.C. – this to me is a tragedy considering that it was a fan favorite even in the light of poor sales. Sure it’s bizarre and nutso, but it was a complete blast to read. And finally Static Shock – one of, if not the only book that could be considered “youthful” and “fun,” and also one of the few books starring a person of color. All of these titles will see their last issues in April.

...continue reading »
space
space space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space