space
space
head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS   •   MOVIES   •   MUSIC   •   TELEVISION   •   GAMES   •   BOOKS
Comic Review: Sand + Bone By J.T. Krul
space
Olympus Athens   |  @   |  
space

Sand Bone Header

Sand + Bone
Written by J.T. Krul
Illustrated by Andrea Mutti
Adaptive Studios
Release Date: April 18th, 2017
Offered exclusively at Barnes and Noble

Sean Hitcher is suffering, inside and out. Just home from Iraq, there is no peace from his torment, as every time he closes his eyes he is transported back to the real hell on Earth. Addicted to drugs, and willing to do anything (except counseling) to silence his inner demons, he runs into his former love at the pharmacy. She seems very worried and reveals her divorce and the new love of her life – her son. He takes off, because the drugs he can’t get are the only thing keeping the nightmares at bay, plus he seems to want to get away from her concern.

This is the setup for Sand + Bone written by J.T. Krul, and illustrated by Andrea Mutti.

...continue reading »
space
 
Comic Review: The Owl #1
space
PS Hayes   |  @   |  
space

The Owl #1The Owl #1
Written by J. T. Krul
Illustrated by Heubert Kahn Michael
Lettered by Simon Bowland
Colored by Vinicius Andrade
Cover by Alex Ross
Dynamite Entertainment
Release Date: July 3, 2013
Cover Price: $3.99

The Owl #1 is the latest entry in Dynamite Entertainment’s pulp heroes line, which has been pretty successful, both critically and financially. Does The Owl measure up to the rest of the books in the line? Let’s take a look..

J. T. Krul gives us a different take on the pulp heroes with this book. It’s got a heavy Captain America vibe, and normally that kind of thing would bother me, but here it doesn’t because it fits both the book and the character so well. Krul avoids all the “poor me” traps that normally would fall under a time displaces hero, and instead, let’s the hero have fun and be aggressive in this “brand new world” that he’s been flung into. He allows The Owl to have some fun here, and while there is some regret about his part, it’s pretty few and far between and doesn’t weigh down the book at all.

...continue reading »
space
 
DC Relaunch: Six Comics Canceled and Replaced With ‘Second Wave’
space
Hunter Camp   |  
space

relaunch bannerDC Comics announced on Thursday that they would be setting up the second wave of “New 52” releases while also canceling six ongoing comics that were released in the initial run of the DC Relaunch.

Resting in peace are six comics that were quite good and enjoyable or had a lot of potential to be great, so they will definitely be missed. Those comic books are Blackhawks – a war comic focusing on a group of militaristic mercenaries in the vein of G.I. Joe; Hawk and Dove – the only DC book written by the extremely talented Sterling Gates with art from Rob Liefeld (more on him in another article); Men of War – a war book that was one of my favorite comics of the relaunch that took a realistic approach to the military in a world full of superheroes; Mister Terrific – one of the very few DC comics with a person of color as the leading role. Also, the main character was highly intelligent and, interestingly enough in a comic, atheist. O.M.A.C. – this to me is a tragedy considering that it was a fan favorite even in the light of poor sales. Sure it’s bizarre and nutso, but it was a complete blast to read. And finally Static Shock – one of, if not the only book that could be considered “youthful” and “fun,” and also one of the few books starring a person of color. All of these titles will see their last issues in April.

...continue reading »
space
space space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr space
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed space
space
Amazon.com
space
space
space
space
space
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
space
2520 Clothing Company
space
2019  ·   2018  ·   2017  ·   2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
space
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2018 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
space
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
space
About | Privacy Policy | Contact
space