head
head head head
Home Contact RSS Feed
COMICS  •  MOVIES  •  MUSIC  •  TELEVISION  •  GAMES  •  BOOKS
Movie Review: Prevenge
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Prevenge movie

Prevenge
Written & Directed by Alice Lowe
Cast: Alice Lowe, Gemma Whelan, Kate Dickie, Jo Hartley
Distributor: Shudder
Runtime: 88 min
Release date: March 24, 2017

A woman walks into a pet store and engages in a conversation with the owner rife with sexual innuendo. As he shows off his exotic animal collection the woman grabs a knife off a table and slices his throat. A thumping electronic score pipes in as the film title drops in one letter at a time. Prevenge is a horror movie because the main character is a serial killer. But rather than an escaped psychopath or a masked maniac, the killer here is a very pregnant woman.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: Power Rangers (2017)
eelyajekiM   |  @   |  

Power Rangers team header

Power Rangers
Director: Dean Israelite
Screenwriter: John Gatins
Cast: Dacre Montgomery, Naomi Scott, RJ Cyler, Becky G, Ludi Lin, Bill Hader, Bryan Cranston, Elizabeth Banks
Distributor: Lionsgate
Rated PG-13 | 124 Minutes
Release Date: March 24, 2017

“Different Colors. Different Kids. Different Colored Kids.” The Power Rangers are the zeitgeist of 90’s Saturday morning television. But the series isn’t exactly the sparkling example of quality acting and writing. None of that really mattered as a kid as long as the title heroes defeated the monster of the week. So in an age where TV shows are getting the big-screen adaptation treatment, it was only a matter of time before studios would take their eyes on our Saturday morning cartoon favorites.

As fans got older so did the franchise. The Power Rangers constantly changed teams, themes, and stories. But one thing remained true: it was always going to be campy. However, with this new reboot, titled simply Power Rangers, we are introduced to a few more bold ideas, like the introduction of a gay character as a ranger, and one ranger who has Autism. These new ideas are a reflection of the world that we live in today, gives way to those who are trying to find out who they are the impression that they have someone they can relate to. That in itself gives hope and inspiration while also being fun and nostalgic. My full review of the film below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: Disney’s Beauty and The Beast (2017)
eelyajekiM   |  @   |  

Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and The Beast
Director: Bill Condon
Screenwriter: Stephen Chbosky, Evan Spiliotopoulos
Cast: Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Luke Evans, Kevin Kline, Josh Gad, Ewan McGregor, Stanley Tucci, Audra McDonald, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Ian McKellen, Emma Thompson
Distributor: Walt Disney Studios
Rated PG | 129 Minutes
Release Date: March 17, 2017

Never let it be said that Walt Disney Studios does not put any effort into their live-action adaptations of their animated classics. It’s easy to assume that they are simply trying to milk a lucrative trend that they have created, especially with the success of films like Cinderella and The Jungle Book, and to a lesser extent Maleficent and Alice in Wonderland. So it only makes sense that Disney continue that tradition with a live-action adaptation of Beauty and The Beast. But unlike the aforementioned titles, Beauty and The Beast is so much closer to its animated counterpart that it feels like a rehash of it just with a few additional scenes for some extra exposition. Plus there are also some new songs from Alan Menken. So the film ends up being more like a musical than any of the other films that came before it.

The only problem is that it’s all those extra scenes act more like filler than actual exposition. All it really does is elongate the film to unnecessary lengths. But there is a very bright side to all of this. The new renditions of the songs are perfect, and even some of the new songs had me swooning for repeat listens. Check out my full review below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: Kong: Skull Island
eelyajekiM   |  @   |  

Kong Skull Island first image

Kong: Skull Island
Director: Jordan Vogt-Roberts
Screenwriter: Dan Gilroy, Max Borenstein, Derek Connolly
Cast: Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, Brie Larson, Jing Tian, Toby Kebbell, John Ortiz, Corey Hawkins, Jason Mitchell, Shea Whigham, Thomas Mann, Terry Notary, John C. Reilly
Distributor: Warner Bros.
Rated PG | 118 Minutes
Release Date: March 10, 2017

“Hold onto your butts,” United States Army Lieutenant Colonel Preston Packard (Samuel L. Jackson) proclaims as he and his squad act as a military escort for an expedition team that charts a newly discovered island. You may have heard that line before in Jurassic Park, but the anxiousness that swells over before the outcome is the same nonetheless. In fact, that’s the kind of feeling you get when watching Kong: Skull Island. The unconventional story of the King of the Monsters doesn’t rehash the story that has been retold countless times; instead, it focuses solely on the island itself and the monsters that inhabit it. Check out the full review below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Why ‘Logan’ Was The Perfect X-Men Epilogue and More Than A Comic Book Movie
Bombardier Jedi   |  @   |  

Logan Wolverine movie

For me, this is a hard article to write. What was going to be simply a slightly biased glowing review of the new Wolverine film Logan became something more in my mind. Of course I loved the movie and highly recommend seeing it, but the reasoning for that was something I felt deserved a more little more exposition.

A little background on my love of the Wolverine character: The first comic book I bought with my own allowance was a Wolverine comic. I grew up as a teen in the 90s and for me, the X-Men cartoon on Fox was a main staple of my Saturday mornings. It was why I got up early. Out of all the teenage mutant characters to identify with as a teenager, the one that was my favorite was of course Wolverine. He was an anti-hero for anti-heroes. Moody, irritable, hairy… all good reasons for me to love the guy, but not to mention that he was nearly unstoppable. Wolverine was one of the few characters universally feared it seemed. I wanted to be that guy. Villain and hero alike respected Logan. There is little to wonder why he became the biggest part of the X-Men universe. So back to my point. With the film Logan, it isn’t just director James Mangold honoring the end of Hugh Jackman‘s portrayal of Weapon X. No, Mangold is saying goodbye to the entire X-Men universe from 2000.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: Logan
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Logan Wolverine movie

Logan
Written by Scott Frank, James Mangold, Michael Green
Directed by James Mangold
Starring Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Dafne Keen, Richard E. Grant, Boyd Holbrook, Stephen Merchant
20th Century Fox
Release date: March 3, 2017

For some it’s Batman, for other’s Spider-Man. For me, it’s always been Wolverine. For more than two-thirds of my life, the crazed Canadian with berserker rage, healing powers, and adamantium-coated claws has been MY hero. I’m a die-hard fan of the University of Michigan for no other reason than their team name. I am constantly drawn to anti-hero characters in both film and literature. And I have a penchant for growing scruffy beards and calling people “bub”… okay, that last part is a stretch, I called my grandmother “Bub.” I am such a Wolverine fan, that I convinced myself that X-Men Origins: Wolverine was good the first time I saw it. Talk about denial! Last night, I took my son and nephew to see Logan, a late show on an opening Friday. Me, there like a fanboy wearing my Wolverine #1 comic book t-shirt. All I can say is that when your expectations for a film are at a fever pitch, and the film not only lives up to, but surpasses them, it is a truly special feeling.

...continue reading »
space
 
Blu-ray Review: Jonathan Straiton’s Night of Something Strange
Dr. Zaius   |  @   |  

Night of Something Strange movie banner

Night of Something Strange
Blu-Ray/ DVD
Written by Jonathan Straiton & Ron Bonk & Mean Gene
Directed by Jonathan Straiton
Starring Rebecca C. Kasek, Trey Harrison, Wayne W Johnson, Toni Ann Gambale, Michael Merchant, John Walsh, Tarrence Taylor, Nicola Fiore, Janet Mayson, Kirk LaSalle, Billy Garberina, Wes Reid, Brinke Stevens
Hurricane Bridge Entertainment
Release Date: Tuesday, February 21st, 2017

“Earth just googled hero, and I came up number one.”

2016 was a year stocked to the brim with great horror films. From South Korea to the Southern United States, horror was both critically and financially successful last year. One of the most balls out crazy horror films to debut last year was Jonathan Straiton’s Night of Something Strange. The film takes a cliche premise of sexy kids going out for Spring Break and turns it on its head, as they are stalked by an STD that turns them into sex crazed mutated zombies. Featuring corpse rape, a zombifying STD, killer exploding genitalia, and some of the most outrageously hilarious dialogue in the genre, you will surely never forget Night of Something Strange.

Check it out below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: Jordan Peele’s Get Out
Adam Frazier   |  @   |  

Movie Review: Jordan Peele's Get Out

Get Out
Director: Jordan Peele
Screenwriter: Jordan Peele
Cast: Daniel Kaluuya, Allison Williams, Catherine Keener, Bradley Whitford, Caleb Landry Jones, Lil Rel Howery, Keith Stanfield, Stephen Root, Betty Gabriel
Distributor: Universal Pictures
Rated R | 103 Minutes
Release Date: February 24, 2017

Whether it’s Rosemary’s Baby, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, or Videodrome, the best horror films act as subversive social commentaries, dealing with humanity’s fears on a subconscious level and offering a kind of communal catharsis.

In his 1981 non-fiction book, Danse Macabre, author Stephen King states that the horror genre can “serve as an extraordinarily accurate barometer of those things which trouble the night-thoughts of a whole society.” George A. Romero’s landmark 1968 film, Night of the Living Dead, for example, was rife with racial commentary during the height of the Civil Rights Movement.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: The Great Wall
eelyajekiM   |  @   |  

The Great Wall starring Matt Damon

The Great Wall
Director: Zhang Yimou
Screenwriter: Carlo Bernard, Doug Miro, Tony Gilroy
Cast: Matt Damon, Jing Tian, Pedro Pascal, Willem Dafoe, Andy Lau
Distributor: Universal Pictures
Rated PG-13 | 104 Minutes
Release Date: February 17, 2017

One would expect something like The Great Wall to live up to its title. History tells us that The Great Wall of China was constructed with the purpose of defense, border control, and trade regulation. In Zhang Yimou‘s film, we learn that it had another purpose: to protect the nation of China from the Tao Tei, giant green scaly beasts that have ravaged the country for ages. This would not be the first time that a film has depicted history and mix it with myth and monsters.

Of course, one of the biggest concerns surrounding The Great Wall is the blatant whitewashing that has been a part of the marketing campaign since the very beginning. Matt Damon has been the face of this film. Despite the film’s majority Chinese cast, Chinese director, and Chinese financiers, the film still believed it needed to have a big name in order to be a big seller.

But putting all of that aside, there is some entertainment value in the film. Just don’t expect much of it. Check out my full review below.

...continue reading »
space
 
Movie Review: A Cure For Wellness
Adam Frazier   |  @   |  

Movie Review: A Cure For Wellness

A Cure For Wellness
Director: Gore Verbinski
Screenwriter: Justin Haythe
Cast: Dane DeHaan, Jason Isaacs, Mia Goth
Distributor: 20th Century Fox
Rated R | 146 Minutes
Release Date: February 17, 2017

In Richard Fleischer’s 1973 dystopian sci-fi film Soylent Green, Charlton Heston plays an NYPD detective investigating the murder of a wealthy CEO. The investigation leads him to uncover the truth about Soylent Green, a food ration advertised to contain “high-energy plankton.” It turns out the miracle product is made of people. Human corpses are delivered to a disposal center where they are processed and converted into the very thing that keeps us alive.

If the big question behind Fleischer’s film is “What are we really eating?” then A Cure For Wellness asks, “What are we really taking?” From Gore Verbinski (The Ring, the Pirates of the Caribbean series), A Cure For Wellness is a mind-bending psychological thriller with exquisite but unsettling imagery.

...continue reading »
space
space « Previous Articles space space
space
space
Geeks of Doom on Instagram Follow Geeks of Doom on Tumblr
Geeks of Doom on YouTube Geeks of Doom on Pinterest
Geeks of Doom Email Digest Geeks of Doom RSS Feed
Amazon.com
space
The Drill Down Podcast TARDISblend Podcast Westworld Podcast
2016  ·   2015  ·   2014  ·   2013  ·   2012  ·   2011  ·   2010  ·   2009  ·   2008  ·   2007  ·   2006  ·   2005
Geeks of Doom is proudly powered by WordPress.

Students of the Unusual™ comic cover used with permission of 3BoysProductions
The Mercuri Bros.™ comic cover used with permission of Prodigal Son Press

Geeks of Doom is designed and maintained by our geeky webmaster
All original content copyright ©2005-2016 Geeks of Doom
All external content copyright of its respective owner, except where noted
Creative Commons License
This website is licensed under
a Creative Commons License.
About | Privacy Policy | Contact